Skip to Content

What Indian Dishes Are Dairy Free

What Indian Dishes Are Dairy Free

What Indian Dishes Are Dairy Free?

Many Indian dishes are dairy-free, such as vegetable curries, chana masala, sambar, dal, biryani made with vegetables, lentils, and rice. Many types of Indian breads like roti, chapati, naan, and poori are also dairy-free.

Dairy DishesDairy-free Dishes
Palak PaneerChicken Tikka
Cucumber RaitaVegetable Pakoras
Paneer TikkaAchari Murgh
Saag PaneerChana Saag
Indian diary and dairy-free dishes.

If you enjoy Indian food, but cannot – or prefer not – to eat dairy, then you are well aware that dairy is a major component of Indian cuisine. While vegetarian Indian foods are easily found, dairy products are used extensively, particularly butter, cheese, yogurt, and occasionally milk or cream. Indian food is very high on dairy, but here are the best ways to substitute the use of clarified butter, yogurt, and other dairy products in food, if you are a vegan.

Of course, any Indian veggie dish can easily be made dairy-free if you are cooking at home. If you are lactose-intolerant or if you are vegan and you are looking for some flavor diversity, an Indian dairy-free meal is the next best thing. Next time you go out to a favorite Indian restaurant, look out for these dishes on the menu, or ask the server to suggest a traditional dairy-free meal.

With basics such as lentils, chickpeas, potatoes, cauliflower, and more, it is likely that some of your favourite Indian dishes are vegetarian, if not already vegan/dairy-free. Indian dishes, especially, are known for their heady mixtures of spices and substantial ingredients, making them great choices for culinary beginners and experts alike.

Watch this video to learn about the recipe of famous Dairy free butter chicken

Many Indian dishes are known for their richness and the use of cream, yogurt (or dhahi, as it is known in the country), and ghee. Apart from meat-based dishes, the key ingredients to look for, whether it is at Indian restaurants or your own kitchen, are ghee and cream.

North Indians use paneer as a star in many dishes, and also a vegetarian substitute for meat, typically chicken. While South Indians rarely use paneer (cheese), neither North nor South Indian cuisine is reliably dairy-free. The good news is, dairy-free Indian cooking is available, provided that you know which dishes are likely to have it.

If you are eating food from south India, coconut milk and coconut cream are used, so this is less of an issue from a dairy-free perspective. Save coconut milk usage for south Indian dishes, where coconut milk is itself a common ingredient, and many foods are automatically vegan. I would not recommend using coconut oil to fry things or make sweets, unless you are cooking South Indian dishes in which coconut is used elsewhere in the recipe, because the flavor is immediately recognizable, and coconut will not be used in dishes from other parts of India (especially in the north) because it does not grow in these regions.

Some Indian dishes are traditionally made with butter, and they are not likely to be made any different, even if other curries in the menu are made with oil. Desserts are a little trickier, as many Indian sweets are made using milk powder or evaporated milk.

If you’re interested in Are Eggs Dairy Or Poultry, take a look at my other article

As far as beverages go, Indians drink milk on a daily basis, particularly in milk tea (chai) or milk-and-spiced coffee. More pragmatically, many Indians are vegetarians for religious reasons, and milk is a simple source of protein. Indians also drink plenty of lassi, a traditional drink made with yogurt, as well as buttermilk, or buttermilk, a fluid that comes out of the process of being churned.

The star component in this dal is the white pea, which acts like a sponge for all the spices used, providing lots of protein. Similar in texture to a thick soup, this dal is made of starchy vegetables, making this one an ideal comfort food. Paneer is also served with palak (Indian spinach dish) as well as with colorful red, yellow, and green bell peppers.

Keralan Fish Curry is a light, fresh tasted dish which is topped with fresh coriander and served with steamed rice. While vegan biryani can be difficult to find when dining out, it is a simple dish to prepare for vegetarians at home, and the unique flavors of the dish make it a must-try Indian meal. Serve this recipe as a side for a rice-and-curry lunch, or pair with chapatti/roti, Indian flatbreads. Kadhi is always made with yogurt, so you are better off skipping this one, unless you are in a vegetarian Indian restaurant.

Makhani, a curry from Punjab, literally means butter in Punjabi, and kadhi is similar dish to tikka masala, but with varying proportions of dairy products. Neither roti nor chapati batter usually contains any dairy products, but those breads are usually garnished with a little bit of butter or ghee once cooked. Typical items containing milk are the naan dough (some doughs contain milk, while others contain yogurt), kulfi (a slow-melting Indian ice-cream), kheer (an Indian rice pudding), and seviyan (a pudding made of milk and vermicelli). To skip moo-juice, you will have to be aware of a few common dairy ingredients most commonly used in curries and Indian dishes.

Indian food is one of my favorite cuisines, but oftentimes, I need to miss a lot of dishes because they are loaded with dairy, mainly in the form of heavy cream. There are some authentic Indian dishes that contain no dairy at all, while still offering all of the flavors and diversity associated with Indian cuisine. We are constantly amazed by some of the creative ways Indian cooking incorporates protein in vegetarian dishes.

Hindus like dishes packed with fresh ingredients, burst with colour and flavour, which is why meat recipes are also inconceivable without vegetables. South Indian cuisine makes use of lentils and rice in dishes such as dal, dosa, and in sweet, pasty-like dishes like idli, vada, and uttapam. Another commonly used ingredient in North Indian dishes, cream is typically added late in the cooking process to give richness and flavor in dishes like the classic tomato soup, and curries like dal or paneer makhani.

If you’re interested in Can Propane Go Bad, take a look at my other article

If you are making North Indian curries, soups, or dals, you are better off using a different, plant-based substitute. The variety in dairy-based offerings makes it difficult to find reliable vegetarian fare in Indian restaurants. When eating in Indian restaurants, vegans need to be wary of dishes that include milk, cheese, and yogurt sauces. Many Indians today consider dairys healthfulness to be a matter of faith, viewing milk as a necessary staple.

Is Indian food usually dairy-free?

South Indians hardly ever use paneer (cheese) in their cuisines, but neither North nor South Indian cooking is dairy-free. The variety of milk-based options makes it difficult to find regular vegan food in Indian restaurants. No cuisine contains unidentifiable amounts of milk, cream, or ghee.

What Indian dishes are gluten free?

If you want to eat Indian food but are concerned that it may contain gluten? Don’t worry, then. Luckily, the majority of Indian cuisine is inherently gluten-free since it uses beans and legumes like chickpeas and lentils and main staples like rice, vegetables, and meat.

Is korma dairy-free?

Korma is a popular dish in countries like India or Pakistan. Korma is a mild, coconut-flavored curry sauce that is usually made with dairy ingredients, which may include ghee, yoghurt or cream. So if you’re wondering that whether korma is dairy-free or not, it is definitely not.

Skip to content