Skip to Content

Can You Eat Eggs On Ash Wednesday

Can You Eat Eggs On Ash Wednesday

Can You Eat Eggs On Ash Wednesday

Yes, you can eat eggs on Ash Wednesday. Ash Wednesday is the first day of Lent, which is a time of fasting and repentance. During Lent, people often give up certain foods as a way to discipline themselves. However, eggs are not typically included in this list of fasting foods.

Maybe you are a practicing Christian fasting on Ash Wednesday, and wondering what foods you may or may not be allowed to have during the Lenten season of Ash Wednesday. Ash Wednesday is a significant day on the Christian calendar, because Ash Wednesday marks the first day of the fasting, repentance, prayer, and self-control that you will need to do throughout the Lenten season — i.e. Along with the Lent Fridays, Jesus Ash Wednesday is a mandatory fasting and abstinence day, with only a single full meal, and no meat, being consumed.

Some people choose specific delights to abstain from during the entire 40 days, and all Christians are instructed to refrain from eating meat on Ash Wednesday, as well as on all Fridays of Lent, except for Good Friday. In addition to the Fast of Good Friday, Catholics have traditionally chosen to engage in extra penitential practices throughout Lent. The Sundays of Lent are definitely part of the Time of Lent, but are not prescribed days for fasting and abstinence. Catholics living in America are allowed to substitute another penance throughout the rest of the year, but the obligatory thing during Lent is to fast and abstain.

The guidelines for fasting on Ash Wednesday are the same as the guidelines for fasting on Fridays during the entire month of Lent, which includes no meat. While it is not specifically stated in Scripture that meat is forbidden on Ash Wednesday, the Code of Canon Law explains Catholics must abstain from eating meat on Ash Wednesday, and also refrain from eating meat on Fridays during Lent. There are occasions in which Catholics are expected to refrain from eating meat, and not many exceptions to the rule. On days when meat is forbidden, Catholics are allowed to eat eggs, fish, and other types of seafood.

Catholics are required to refrain from eating meat during the Lenten season, but they are not required to refrain from eating byproducts from animals that produce meat. Many do not know it, but Catholics are technically required to refrain from eating meat all Fridays throughout the year (except for Holy Days) — not just Lent. Q. I realize Fridays in Lent are days to abstain from meat, but I am not sure what qualifies as meat.

Check this article Can You Eat Chicken On Ash Wednesday, if you are interested to see my other detailed article

Find out what are you supposed to eat on ash Wednesday

The reason Catholics refrain from eating meat on Ash Wednesday and Good Friday is that abstaining from meat, or abstaining from eating food altogether, is a form of sacrifice. The Catholic Church believes that eating meat on Ash Wednesday and Good Friday, as well as Fridays throughout the Lenten season, is sinful. If you are giving up meat or eating any kind of food during the month of Lent, you cannot have that food for Ash Wednesday and for 40 days after.

What to eat on ash WednesdayWhat not to eat on ash Wednesday
LambEggs
ChickenMilk
Beef, pork, hamFish
Deer and most other meatsGrains, fruits, and vegetables
The food you can and cannot eat on Ash Wednesday

Catholic fasting involves eating less than normal, but it does not mean people observing Ash Wednesday must go all day without eating. Fasting is a religious practice in which people refrain from eating any kind of food for a certain amount of time. Many Christians fast from dawn to dusk, abstaining from meat, alcohol, and other pleasures. While in the past it was common to abstain on meat on Good Friday and also during Lent (the forty days leading up to Easter (4 April), most believers observe a Lenten fast during the month of Lent alone.

Under Catholic abstinence laws, Catholics aged fourteen years or older are required not to eat meat on Fridays during the month of Lent. For Catholics, this means no meat on Good Friday (strictly, on any Friday) since Good Friday is the day that Jesus was crucified. The tradition to forgo meat on Good Friday comes in the context of Lent, the 40-day period of contemplation and sacrifice observed by many different Christian denominations.

Today, Catholics and some other Christians still refrain from eating meat on the Fridays of Lent, eating just one meal, with the allowance of two smaller snacks, or fasting for the entire two days. Today, though, most Catholics adhere to Catholic rules of fasting during Lent, because we accept that, in the end, Lent is best for our spiritual health (and, in the end, because the Catholic Church says so). There is much confusion surrounding what Catholics are allowed to eat, and what they are supposed to avoid, during Lent.

Catholics, for example, do not regard any kind of fish as meat, and thus may be allowed to eat them on days when their religion does not permit meat consumption. Abstaining means that Catholics may eat eggs and dairy products, and products derived from animals that have no taste of meat, like gelatin. Catholic abstinence (in this context) refers to the practice of choosing not to eat meat, or any food containing bits of meat. The U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops provides guidelines on fasting–eating a whole meal; two smaller meals or snacks are allowed, but they do not have to amount to one whole meal–and abstinence–eating no meat, though strict vegetarianism is not required.

Orthodox Christians maintain a year-round fast, not just on Fridays, but also Wednesdays. For Catholics, the week leading up to Easter includes penance, fasting, and prayer, in addition to a practice of sacrificing something special, like a child giving up candy or an adult swearing off drinking alcohol. Modern Catholics mark Lent by giving something up for 40 days, praying, attending Mass, and following special rules about eating.

This year, Ash Wednesday, which marks the beginning of Lents Easter season, falls on Feb. 14, which is also the same day that many couples celebrate love by eating lavish meals and indulging in desserts. On all other days of the week, Catholics eat as normal (unless they choose to also volunteer something to abstain from during the Lenten season). You might skip meat some days, and even Fridays can be delicious to eat in the Lenten season.

One of the things that the Church reminds us is to keep within the spirit of the 40 days of Lent is to keep meals humble during those times. Allowing children to help with planning meals for the 40 days of Lent while they are young may help avoid the negatives.

To learn about Can I Eat Eggs During Lent , check out my article where I cover everything you need to know.

Why were eggs forbidden during Lent?

Bishops and theologians used to place restrictions on what foods might be consumed during Lent, including on Sundays, by making it church law that no meat or animal goods, dairy, or eggs were permitted at all. It was meant to prevent self-indulgence during this time of making amends for wrongdoing.

Are eggs inflammatory?

Frequent egg consumption might result in more edema and joint discomfort. Essential amino acid, which is present in egg yolks, contributes to the body’s immune response. Saturated fat, another ingredient in eggs, can cause joint discomfort.