Clicky Skip to Content

Can Tamari Be Substituted For Soy Sauce

Can Tamari Be Substituted For Soy Sauce

Can You Use Tamari Instead of Soy Sauce?

If you are out of Soy Sauce and don’t want to rush to the store to purchase more, you’ll be glad to know you can use Tamari in its place instead. The amount you use is exactly the same as that of Soy Sauce — to put it simply if your recipe required one tablespoon of Soy Sauce, you will use one tablespoon of Tamari as well.

Tamari- a Japanese form of soy sauce

To learn about How To Preserve Carrots, check out my article where I cover everything you need to know.

Tamari can be substituted for any type of sauce in any dish as Tamari is rich in umami properties. Oyster sauce is very different from fish sauce, but can still be a good substitute for tamari sauce.

Fish sauce is salty and contains plenty of umami, but if you don’t like a strong fishy smell, you might want to avoid it. Fish sauce also has no caramel flavor compared to using Tamari sauce in dishes. Fish sauce has a fragrant umami flavor like soy sauce, but you probably don’t want to replace it in equal amounts since it’s spicier than soy sauce.

By the way, if you’re interested in How To Preserve Kale, check out my article on that.

It is also a good substitute for tamari sauce as it enhances the umami flavor and complements the salty taste of many Asian dishes. Hoisin sauce is similar to barbecue sauce in that it is sweeter and stronger than tamari, but contains umami and is very salty. Although the taste is different from tamari, teriyaki sauce is no less salty.

Like soy sauce, it’s gluten-free, but contains soy and the same sodium content. Unlike soy sauce, which contains a lot of wheat, soy sauce can be considered gluten-free because it contains little or no wheat. Tamari also contains more protein and fewer preservatives than soy sauce, and can be more expensive. It’s slightly sweeter, but it’s also low in sodium (about 90 mg per teaspoon versus 290 mg in soy sauce) and gluten-free.

Tamari SauceSoy sauce
Little thickerHas a thinner consistency,
but is salty than tamari
Richer flavor, deeper color, less salty or milder taste Leaves a burst of salt on the tongue
Gluten-freeHave fewer additives
Tamari and soy sauce differences.

Wuxi means that properly cooked soy sauce is naturally gluten-free, but otherwise tastes like a milder, saltier soy sauce. When I want to add more complex flavors to something as simple as rice, I go for Tamari, when in fact, soy sauce should be the star of the dish. Tamari and soy sauce look the same, but the two sauces are made differently and use different ingredients. While soy sauce is delicious on its own, it’s important to remember that soy sauce substitutes will never taste like soy sauce.

If you are allergic to soy or cannot eat soy for any other reason, tamari is not the best choice. If you can take soy, tamari is the best option for most people.

Tamari has a richer flavor, deeper color, less salty or milder taste than regular Chinese soy sauce. Tamari has a strong umami flavor that comes from the concentration of soybeans. Tamari is a wonderful gluten-free sauce that comes from the fermentation process of soybeans.

Watch this video to learn the attributes of Regular and Tamari Soy Sauce

Replacing soy sauce with soy sauce allows those with gluten allergies to still enjoy all the delicious dishes without umami. You can substitute soy sauce for soy sauce in many recipes – just swap the same amount for soy sauce and you’ll be fried in no time.

You can also make soy sauce-free at home if you don’t want to try store-bought substitutes. In addition to the substitutes below, fish sauce, miso paste, dried shiitake mushrooms, and prune vinegar are also good substitutes for soy sauce. Combine beef broth, apple cider vinegar, earthenware molasses, and 1/2 teaspoon fish sauce to make a great soy sauce substitute for a richer flavor.

If you are using this sauce in a recipe that is supposed to be very salty, you may need to add some salt to the dish as it is low in sodium. Worcestershire sauce contains about 65 mg of sodium per serving. Compared to soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce is spicier and slightly sweeter, though not as sweet as something like coconut or liquid amino acids. Worcestershire sauce doesn’t have to be limited to Bloody Marys and steaks, it can also spice up regular roasted vegetables and popcorn by bringing out the flavor.

The marked differences in flavor and color between the two sauces allow them to be used interchangeably in most recipes. Light soy sauce simply refers to soy sauce that is less fermented than dark soy sauce; low-sodium soy sauce generally refers to light soy sauce with lower sodium content.

Like tamari, soy sauce is filled with umami, a sweet and salty flavor that stands out among the five flavors. For those who prefer a milder flavor, the white sauce (“shiro”) is mostly wheat rather than soy, giving it a pale sweetish flavor.

However, soy sauce itself is not as popular as only about 1.5% of all soy sauces made in Japan qualify as soy sauce. Plus, it tends to have fewer additives than other fillers, making it a more natural choice than other products on the shelf. The main thing that makes soy sauce and these soy sauce substitutes so delicious is salt. As far as texture goes, the only place you really notice it is in sauces, marinades or sauces.

Besides dipping sauce, tamari can also be used in cooking to enhance the flavor of the dish. Tamari is also an excellent choice for adding a salty flavor to marinades.

You can also add Worcestershire sauce and balsamic vinegar as a good alternative to tamari. Soy sauce, miso paste, liquid amino acids, coconut amino acids, teriyaki, fish sauce, oyster sauce, hoisin sauce, Worcestershire sauce, umeboshi vinegar, monosodium glutamate, and salt are all great substitutes for tamari. Dales dressing is gluten-free but soy-free, used primarily for marinades, but can be used to make your own dipping sauces or on its own.

How Much Tamari Do I Use Instead of Soy Sauce?

Tamari can be replaced with soy sauce using a 1:1 ratio. It is a go-to replacement for soy sauce, especially in recipes that call for gluten-free results. The salt content may vary between both the sauces as tamari is slightly less salty and will need a little bit of salt adjustment.

Is Tamari Healthier Than Soy Sauce?

Tamari is said to be the best gluten-free substitute for soy sauce with less amount of salt which makes it healthier as compared to soy sauce. It is also higher in protein and has a smoother taste with many other antioxidants and fewer additives.

Is Tamari gluten-free?

Some tamari contains a small amount of wheat, but some are gluten-free. So, it is all about the wheat or lack of it! Kikkoman Tamari is Gluten Free Soy Sauce that contains no wheat at all. It is best for those with a gluten allergy or coeliac disease.

Skip to content