Skip to Content

Are There Eggs In Bagels

Are There Eggs In Bagels

Are There Eggs In Bagels

There are two types of bagels: those that are eggless and those that are egg-filled. Egg bagels are relatively a recent innovation. The egg yolk is cooked in the center of the bagel while the white is set around the edges.

Egg bagels are bagels made with either yolks or whole eggs, as well as the standard dough, which contains water, salt, flour, and yeast. In the older days, bagels were made of salt, flour, yeast, and water, but the egg bagel is a modern recipe. A bagel is usually made with ingredients like flour, water, salt, sugar, yeast, and dried yeast, an all-natural, vegan substitute.

To learn about How To Preserve Food, check out my article where I cover everything you need to know.*

A traditional bagel is typically 100% vegan, since it is made with vegan ingredients, but when it comes to commercial-grade bagels, which are made in bulk to appeal to a variety of palates, things get a little out of hand. While bagels were traditionally made using eggs, now it is almost always made using exclusively vegan ingredients. Even if your bagels are not, making your own allows you to swap out the vegan ingredients and be in control of what goes into your bagels. With that said, there are some bagels varieties out there that do include eggs or other non-vegan ingredients.

Shelf lifeEgg-filled bagels
At room temperature 2-3 daysEgg bagels are relatively a recent innovation
Maximum 7 days The egg yolk is cooked in the center of the bagel while the white is set around the edges
What are Egg-filled bagels and their shelf life.

This recipe is one of the easiest to follow, and once you are in the habit of making bagels, you can experiment with other vegan ingredients to enhance the flavors and texture of your bagels. Aside from the bagels themselves, it is also important to note that many bagels toppings and fillings are not suitable for vegans. The meat, smoked fish, and eggs often served on bagels are, obviously, unsuitable for vegans.

Learn how to cook egg bagels

Well, if you are a vegan, or avoiding eggs for some other reason, you will be glad to know that not all bagels use eggs, and some are definitely vegan-friendly. Honestly, the list of bagel products that do not contain eggs is a lot shorter than the list of those that do, and because you are here wondering whether bagels are vegan, or whether egg-free bagels exist, we thought you would benefit more from the following section. To start things off, we are going to cover restaurants that provide excellent vegan bagels options, either by not using eggs in the dough or using eggs wash on their fillings. This list is not comprehensive at all, and we are sure that there are many more restaurants, coffee shops, and bagel brands available that have vegan-friendly, egg-free options, but like we said at the beginning of this post, there is no way that we could have researched any more restaurants.

By the way, if you’re interested in Can Hummus Go Bad, check out my article on that.

While you should still ask to make sure, the handful of bagels Einstein Bros does offer that are not vegan-friendly are fairly easy to spot. In many ways, shopping at a shop is a lot easier for someone looking for eggs-free bagels, since you can spend all the time necessary making sure that they are indeed vegan.

Or, if you are planning on buying bagels already made, look at the ingredients list to ensure that there are no animal-derived ingredients. If you are unsure, or if certain additives are listed vaguely, you can always ask the producer, or simply opt for the bagels that are clearly listed. If you have concerns about a specific bagels vegan status, you can always check with the manufacturer to confirm, or choose a different brand.

By paying attention to the ingredients lists and asking when in doubt, you can certainly include bagels in your diet without jeopardizing your vegan lifestyle. Summary You can make sure that your bagels are vegan by making them at home, or checking labels for Vegan-Certified, as well as ingredient lists on non-vegan items. Bagels are usually vegan, but some types may contain ingredients that are not common in foods, including flavors, additives, and fillings made from animals.

In addition to using whole eggs or yolks, this bagel also has a combination of the flour, salt, and yeast required by U.S. food regulatory authorities. Traditional bagel dough is made with wheat flour, water, yeast, and salt, leavingned to the very basics. Essentially, bagels are made vegan using flour, water, yeast, sugar, salt, and occasionally vegetable shortenings in order to form the dough. To start, the traditional bagels dough does not contain eggs, while eggy bagels got their name because of eggs in the mix (the eggs are added just before baking).

The yolks of the eggs infuse the bagels with fat, giving it a texture slightly more like that of Challah bread. The golden colour and the chewy, airy texture of egg bagels can be attributed to the addition of eggs — especially, the yolk. Inspired by my Easy 3 Hour Bagels recipe, these cheesy bagels derive their beautiful golden yellow color and soft, chewy texture from the addition of an egg yolk to the dough.

I switched out a bit of the water in my basic bagel recipe for egg yolks, increasing the number of yolks each batch until I hit the ratios that gave us that perfect golden yellow color and the right amount of chewiness. I started out swapping out the egg yolks for some water in my plain bagel recipe, slowly increasing the amount of yolks with each batch. I wanted to use as few yolks as possible, yet still make a bagel that was undeniably eggy.

These bagels might have had a bit of an egg wash. After boiling the bagels, before adding toppings, and before baking, some bakers like to use an egg wash. It turns out some manufacturers and bakers even put a bit of egg on their bagels, in order to alter the texture. It turns out, the traditional bagels are made egg-free, since it is simply a mix of sugar, yeast, water, salt, and flour, making them entirely vegan.

In addition to the egg bagels, you can also get plain bagels, French toast bagels, blueberry bagels, and onion bagels (yes, there are savory options too). In addition, bagels are usually made with flavors like poppy seeds, sesame seeds, caraway seeds, salt, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, garlic, onions, peppers, chives, and more. While mainstream bagels employ a highly-compositional baggel recipe, a low-key bagel variation contains only a mixture of flour, water, sugar, salt, and yeast.

Remember, a basic bagel does not contain any fat or protein – but when you add egg yolks and whites to the mixture, that adds so much pliability and suppleness to the dough that makes it texture-wise different than the average bagel. The most common non-vegan ingredients found in bagels are egg yolks, milk byproducts, and a dough conditioner called L-cysteine.

What makes bagels different from regular bread?

In addition to being composed of a yeast/wheat dough and cut into rings with a hole in the middle, bagels are also boiled rather than baked. They have a firmer and chewier feel than regular bread but still have a faint crust on the outside.

Is a bagel a healthy breakfast?

If you pick and cook your bagels carefully, they can be a great addition to a healthy breakfast. The popular bread, which is frequently a fantastic source of complex carbs, can give you energy and a variety of minerals like calcium, potassium, and B vitamins.

Do bagels have egg or milk in them?

As it turns out, traditional bagels are entirely vegan because they are manufactured solely from a combination of sugar, yeast, water, salt, and wheat and so don’t require any eggs. Having said that, certain bagels include eggs or other non-vegan ingredients.